Put your “Buts” Behind You

Have you ever heard yourself say, “I hear what my customer is saying, but…”?

This is a crucial point in customer listening. As facilitators, we know that “but” in a conversation often means…

  1. I’m not really listening – I’m trying too hard to think of the next thing I want to say.
  2. I can’t figure out how to incorporate their advice, so I’m going to pretend I didn’t hear it.
  3. What they’re telling me means I will have to fundamentally change something about my offering or my way of operating, and I can’t afford to risk that.

To be able to fully engage your customer and find out how to create brands or relationships that will bring them back to you again and again, you need to practice deep, conscious listening. When you hear something challenging, confusing, or difficult, you need to remember that being special is what will make you successful. Finally, if you’re not willing to risk change, you have to remember that you can’t ask more than that of your customer.

We hope you’ll join us in leaving your buts behind you, for a better, stronger customer relationship.

Really listening (really!),

Megann and Steve

About PANOPTIKA

Make better decisions, get better results, grow your business. We use a deep toolkit of specialized techniques help clarify your objectives, identify decisions that must be made, and eliminate knowledge gaps, resulting in strategy with a firmer foundation and better results.

Leave a Reply

